Do you need to be told your Philosophical worldview?

I just found a cute little online quiz which makes a series of statements and asks you to indicate on a scale to what extent you agree or disagree with the statement. This is not your average Cosmo-quiz but I don’t think it is all that scientific either. I really enjoyed the quiz – I probably enjoyed choosing answers more than getting the results because it made some statements that I had to stop and think about for a bit. Interestingly, I think that because I scored 100% in two categories, I was asked a “tie breaker” question where it selected two of the questions that I had answered already and then asked my to pick the one that I agree with more … that was difficult, but it may be the reason that the blurb talks about me being a Modernist (but really, what’s the difference between 100% and 100% anyway?).

If you desperately want to put yourself in a box then take the quiz yourself and see if you agree with the results.

Reading through some of the comments that other people have left after taking the quiz it seems to polarise participants quite starkly. Perhaps there is an existentialist slant on the questions because there appear to be a number of spiritually-oriented respondents who vehemently disagree with their results.

My results are below the fold …


Take the quiz
You Scored as Modernist

Modernism represents the thought that science and reason are all we need to carry on. Religion is unnecessary and any sort of spirituality halts progress. You believe everything has a rational explanation. 50% of Americans share your world-view.

Existentialist################################### 100%
Modernist################################### 100%
Materialist############################## 88%
Postmodernist########################## 75%
Fundamentalist########### 31%
Cultural Creative########### 31%
Idealist## 6%
Romanticist## 6%

Did you like the quiz? Did you agree with your results?

~ by James on 21 November 2008.

 
